Charles and Emeline Jenkins Award
At the turn of the 20th century, Scituate needed a new school. Charles and Emeline Jenkins offered the town land to build a school and $5,000 towards a portion of the construction cost to build it. The town of Scituate would benefit from a new school and the Jenkins were happy to give to their community with one important stipulation-that the land would never be used for any other purpose than a school.

The reason for their gift to the town is two-fold. The couple believed wholeheartedly in education and they also wanted a meaningful way to memorialize Charles Arthur Jenkins, their son. The first Jenkins School was built and served the town well for many years. In 1954 Jenkins II was built, and in 2001 a third Jenkins School was rebuilt and opened-all on the same plot of land, as Charles and Emeline wished.

We are proud to announce the Charles and Emeline Jenkins Award. This award is given to one female and one male 6th grade student that exemplify the characteristics of Charles and Emeline Jenkins. This award is given every year as a Jenkins tradition. Student nominees must be:

• Giving- of time, talent, and heart
• Selfless
• Thoughtful
• Positive
• Smart
• Hard working
• Honest
• Loyal

* Historical facts provided by Dave Ball, former Jenkins teacher and President, Scituate Historical Society.
The winners of this prestigious award are:


Taegan Story and Sean Coyne


Maggie Murray & Matthew Minich


Hayley McCarthy & Michael Gantt


Margaret Ayers and Evan Helevi 


Shannon Burgess & Colman Benson


Emma Friedel & John Poirier


Lauren Hodges & Owen Thomas


Sabine Adorney & Wells Culkins


Samantha Pender & Jackson Schwarz


Molly Benson & Ryan Lynch